I Can’t Find A Job

Overeducated, under experienced, and unemployed

A Hero for the Service Workers of the World

with 2 comments

By now, I’m sure most of you have heard the story of Steven Slater, the infamous Jet Blue flight attendant that had enough of putting up with psychotic general public and told everybody to go f*** themselves…literally. He then proceeded to grab two Blue Moons (delicious) and slide down the plane’s emergency chute. Good for him.

While going to school and leading up to me eventually finding a job, I worked in the service industry. I spent over 8 years working in retail for a big box retailer and those years were nothing short of pure hell. I’ve dealt with yuppies, idiots, arrogant assholes, hoodlums, psychotics, and the like all while politely grinning and bearing their bullsh*t.

Customer service jobs like those found at hotels, restaurants, and retail establishments have become so unbearable and intolerable. People in general have become so utterly rude, disrespectful, and demanding. They’ve been brainwashed into thinking that because they are handing over a dollar that they have the right to abuse and degrade the people on the front lines of these industries. Just because you are spending $50 at a store does not give you the right to prance around the store like Queen Elizabeth and treat the help like the peasants and servants under your rule. Just because you are spending the night at the Hilton does not give you the right to act like a Hilton. You must play by the establishment’s rules and conduct yourself in an acceptable manner. A $150 a night hotel bill does not give you the right to smoke where there is no smoking or defecate on the floor because someone else is responsible for cleaning up after you. Your purchase does not give you the right to act like an animal.

I applaud Steven Slater as he did what I wanted to do the 8 years I was working in retail. My part-time career choice should not have given maniacs the right to abuse me. Sadly, it did and anytime I tried to put a customer in their place, the clichéd response was, “But I’m a customer and I put money in your paycheck.” I can only hope that in this down economy, these very same people that sneered at retail help and people in the service industry are forced to get a job that was previously “below them” so they can get a taste of the crap they forced poor souls to endure for way too long.

Written by icantfindajob

August 15, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Posted in News, Opinion

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fortunately, my stint in retail was neither as long nor as depressing as yours. I always wonder why people have to be such buttholes. Yes, I’ve been in situations where I’ve been bumped off flights and had to wait 6 – 8 hours to catch the next flight. But never did it occur to me to take it out on the poor soul behind the counter who had nothing to do with overbooking the flight.

    Liquid Egg Product

    August 28, 2010 at 12:21 pm

  2. I happen to think that this guy is awesome. The two older gentlement (retired Navy vets living off retirement income and 60K+ salaries w/benefits at their current jobs) think that he “is stupid; he’s ruined his life!” I still say ‘awesome’ even if I do make less than 45k.

    Monterae

    August 30, 2010 at 1:29 pm


Leave a Reply

