I Can’t Find A Job

Overeducated, under experienced, and unemployed

It’s Not My Fault MTV Created “Jersey Shore”

with 7 comments

I came across an article on MSNBC talking about the same old stuff that every other article on the subject has mentioned. Let me make it simple.

Gen Y – recent grads, no jobs, no money, lots of loans, living with Mom & Dad, underemployed, unemployed, and no end in sight.

Gen X/Millennials – 30-40 yrs old, economic troubles, also face layoffs/unemployment, and find it difficult to get a job.

Older generation – least affected group, generally cranky, hates Gen Y, and will not hire any recent grads do to their Jersey Shore-inspired opinion of Gen Y.

More or less, such was the gist of the article. However, what struck me were the comments left by readers at the end of the article. If you, meaning you younger folks that just graduated and are ready to spread your wings, can’t find a job, here’s why:

“I have been constantly frustrated with the lack of work ethic of the Gen Y or young Gen Xers. They don’t know how to arrive on time and everyone else becomes put behind schedule because they aren’t doing their part of the task at hand. When they get to work they are constantly on their cells,texting or going online during company time. I have opted to doing more of the work myself,it gives me less free time but at least I know it will be done right”

“An example of how these Gen Yers are in fact narcissists. A summer intern called me to rearrange MY schedule for the next day so that he could come in late. Seems he had a party to go to that night and knew he would be out late and drink too much! His exact words.”

“Too many people getting college degrees with worthless majors and then expecting to land a job that requires little real work while providing lots of pay. Not going to happen. These over-educated under-skilled people should have apprenticed as a plumber, or went to trade school to be an auto mechanic. Sewer workers are in high demand. Experienced pipeline welders are in demand. Not much demand for literary journalists.”

“What I have seen from the Gen Y folks is a propensity to get college degrees and then not use them. Also they expect when they graduate from college that companies will pay them 6 figure incomes straight out of college with no experience. I don’t think they are taught or shown how to write a resume that will get you an interview. If they do happen to make it to an interview, they certainly don’t know how to answer questions without saying like, man, or and-uh alot. I don’t see alot of ambition in this generation to do what needs to be done to not only survive on their own, but be successful.”

I can’t speak for others in my generation but I can tell you that I’m hardworking, sincere, and dedicated. I’m not one of these “I can’t make tomorrow’s meeting because I have to go tanning” types. I busted my ass to get the modicum of “success” I’ve achieved and quite frankly, it’s left me a little bitter. Its left me bitter because I haven’t “made it” to any reasonable level worthy of my education. Its also left me bitter because I see incompetents, so-called “experienced workers” in high positions that are remarkably clueless and idiotic. Yet they are the same people that would label me as “unqualified” or “inexperienced.” Ridiculous.

Thoughts?

Written by icantfindajob

July 29, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Posted in Opinion

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yep. You are entirely correct, there is a certain degree of rudeness at younger people. I too busted myself trying to get to a good position and I find myself not in a great area. I find it increbidly rude that other people would say to other people that a plumber would be suited to them.

    Amar

    August 8, 2010 at 7:45 pm

  2. Your article is right on point. Today’s coddled youth are going to be even worse than the Gen Y youth. Very few know what it is like to work prior to college. They are handed anything they want, never told NO to anything and usually have no consequences for their actions. I’m in the Gen X category myself, but I’ve worked since I was 14. From farm help, to weekend greenhouse work, to whatever I could make a dollar doing. I know what hard work is and the dedication it takes. I still to this point have not ‘made it’. I graduated college with an architecture degree and worked for a firm for 8 years, only to be laid off the instance our work slowed. Now, I can’t even get a phone call for a job interview. Is it because of this Gen Y notion of workers? It seems no one is even giving the unemployed a chance to show their skill set even if the job sits vacant for months. There is plenty out there I feel I could do, but no one will take a chance it seems.

    TN

    August 10, 2010 at 8:58 am

  3. Thanks so much for this web site. I had the same experience right after I graduated a couple of years ago. I had a 4.0 and worked really hard in college because that’s what everyone told me to do to get a good job. That blew up in my face.

    Recently, after trying everything humanly possible to make a job work, I left my employment and I’m currently on the job market. I am terrified that it’s going to be another 8 month stint of unemployment. This time, I am armed with a master’s degree, more confidence and some better work experience, but I’m still afraid I’m going to relive my post-graduate days. It was soul-sucking to say the least. The basic problem I see is this: old people suck.

    Neysa

    August 26, 2010 at 5:55 pm

  4. Maybe we wouldn’t expect a great job with a great salary and great benefits if that’s not we were told by every college program that exists to suck us in. I for one do expect everything to be handed to me and everything to be easier since I went to college and got my masters. Why? Because I was told this from my education system for as long as I can remember. I didn’t learn a trade for a reason-I want it to be easy. I know what I sound like, but I’m just telling you why I think the way I do so maybe you (older hiring generation) won’t be so quick to judge.

    Monterae

    August 30, 2010 at 1:27 pm

  5. I am a recent graduate of what was supposed to be a recession proof major; accounting. I cannot get a job. I have no experience. During the two years when undergrads typically get internships, the country was in a hiring freeze. I have now graduated without an internship and without any experience. I have sent my resume to every company with a payroll. I have followed up, hand delivered my resume, and even offered to work for free. I have also been trying to contact not for profit organizations to volunteer; no reply from anybody. I worked full time to put my self through school. I didn’t qualify for student loans for my first two years because my parents made to much money. Our accounting honors group toured many local CPA firms. It was discouraging to hear the middle age workers say that they received multiple offers upon graduation despite their C average grades.
    By the time everybody starts hiring again, employers will look to the recent grads. I will be viewed as old with too much idle time, unless I pass the CPA which is being revamped in January of 2011 to limit the pass rate.
    Can’t start a family till I get a career…woo hoo… So glad I met a great girl in college!

    Josh Mills

    September 12, 2010 at 9:29 am

  6. Neysa hit the nail on the head when they wrote their comment. I just happened to find this site while looking for more answers as to why I can’t find a job in my field, (because at this point I need Google to tell me it’s not my fault just for some reassurance), and I’m glad to see I’m not alone.
    Like Neysa, I worked very hard all through college and managed to graduate this year with a 4.0 GPA, a program achievement award, and the belief that if I was educated and passionate enough about what I do, I would have no problems out of class. Wrong. After my final semester as an intern, I was out on my butt with the loans rolling in. I’ve had 2 interviws since then for positions that required more working experience. After graduation I searched for about a month for a job in my field and realized I needed something to do in the meantime to stay afloat.
    Thankfully in my high school years I worked as a cashier in a grocery store, and I was hired the day I handed in my resume at a local big box market (part-time of course). I managed to get promoted to the highest possible position of Cashier Supervisor after being there for 3 months, and am still making minimum wage in a job I detest with no hope of even moving up to Produce Inspector or something.
    I know there’s more to life than my career, but like Josh Mills mentioned, no $$$ = no wedding, family, house, better car etc. I’m just thankful I have my Chef boyfriend to make slightly more than me at one of the best resturants in town, to cover my half of the rent. I am Gen Y at it’s finest, minus living with the folks…at least for the moment…

    Jaime

    November 18, 2010 at 1:34 pm

  7. I too, busted my behind in university and finished my four year program a year early. I worked as an assistant manager and legal administrative assistant for over five years. I too, despise the Jersey Shoresque Gen Yers, and I am nothing like that. Does that matter to anyone? No.

    I just wonder if these older generations realize what they’re creating for themselves: an unpromising future and unstable retirement program. Who is going to take over their high paying and high ranked positions when they retire? Will anyone be qualified enough if they didn’t have a chance to gain the necessary experience? And more importantly, who is going to pay taxes to contribute to their pension? Who is going to have a job so that they can pay said taxes to contribute to said pension? Exactly.

    K.

    December 29, 2011 at 12:00 am


Leave a Reply

