I Can’t Find A Job

Overeducated, under experienced, and unemployed

The Job Interview

with 16 comments

Although I currently have a job and it’s in my field, it’s not exactly what I’m looking for. It’s not a job I can do long-term as the pay prohibits me from ever taking that “next step” – marriage, house, etc. Plus, it completely undervalues my education and provides me with absolutely no growth opportunity. I’m grateful to have a job in a horrible economy and get excellent benefits to boot. However, my goals require more – more opportunity, more money, and more job satisfaction. A while ago I had an interview that I was incredibly excited about. It seemed like a great opportunity for a position that was exactly what I was looking for. I pulled “ninja tactics” to land an interview as without doing such, I more than likely would have submitted another resume to the online black hole and have given the elves in Narnia another digital document to put in their pipe.

I made sure my suit was in order and made sure my tie knot was perfect. I gathered my portfolio and assembled it with all the necessities – pen, resume, paper. I made the arduous commute to the location of the interview and waited outside until I spoke with the person I had the interview via cell phone. She had someone come get me outside the building (the doors were locked) and led me in. I was handed a paper application and was told to fill it out. Didn’t I spend 30 minutes 2 weeks ago filling out a digital application that has more information than this sheet even asks for? Regardless, I diligently filled out the sheet ad nauseum…name, address, education, etc.

The lady I had the interview with led me to a vacant office, asked for a copy of my resume, and began the interview. I did well, answered everything effectively, and she was courteous enough to listen to me chat. However, I knew the interview was over 3 minutes in. How? She suggested a lower-level role as I did not have the “experience” necessary for the position I applied for. Didn’t she read my resume prior to inviting me in? Why make me trek in for nothing? And the position she suggested I consider is basically a walk-in-off-the-street type of position that would pay less, require more, and provide me with a terrible commute as compared to what I currently have. The interview was over 20 minute later and she thanked me for coming in. I didn’t press things as I knew in my head she wasn’t interested and I wouldn’t hear from her. I politely left and cursed under my breath as I walked out.

Sigh.

Written by icantfindajob

June 16, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Posted in Interviews

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am in the same boat. Over-educated, underemployed. It’s no fun.
    Too bad about the position. But they were probably jerks anyway. The last time I landed a “perfect” position the company turned out very crummy. I had to quit after only a month and a half.😦

    taiyo johnson

    June 21, 2010 at 1:05 pm

  2. It’s undoubtedly because you wore too short of a skirt. For interviews, knee-length is the way to go.

    Liquid Egg Product

    June 22, 2010 at 10:08 am

  3. Clearly…I have learned my lesson!

    icantfindajob

    June 22, 2010 at 11:24 am

  4. Argh. I know the feeling. I currently have a job, for which I am IMMENSELY grateful. But I see how the head project manager goes about hiring people and it makes me hang my head in shame and disgust. Basically, this woman is the biggest jerk you could ever meet in your life (and I know, I used to work in advertising in NYC) and *she* gets to decide the fate of random strangers. My biggest nightmare is that she will take this company I love and turn into 100 replicas of her shrieking harpy self.

    From what I can gather, she already knows who she wants (aka one of her unemployed friends) so she goes thru the motions of bringing in candidates to make it look like she is giving everyone a fair shake.

    This poor guy last week, she was bad mouthing him even before she came in, had no intention of hiring in, put him thru the wringer, bad mouthed him after he left, and of course he did not get the job.

    What was wrong with him? Nothing. Not a thing. I thought he was great. I would have hired him. But he had made the fatal mistake of being a nice guy and not being her friend. She knew she didn’t want him from the beginning? So why bring him in? Because she is the biggest jerk on the planet.

    Best of luck to you. It’s rough out there.

    Chris

    June 22, 2010 at 9:31 pm

  5. Oh, know the feeling. But at least, I don’t have an education to try to fit in. I’m looking for a job that will allow me to study a little on the side.. But so fare nothing. Still got a month left in my old job though, so time is on my side.. Good luck! Looking forward to stopping by and see how you do🙂

    Greetings from Norway, Freckles.🙂

    http://www.ludder.wordpress.com

    Freckles

    June 30, 2010 at 8:52 pm

  6. Wow! I arrived at your website by following a link from Google when I was feeling depressed and typed “I can’t find a job”. I am in the exact same situation and feel like a loser. I have a post graduate degree and nothing to show for it. I currently get paid about the same amount that I could make by working in McDonalds but I can’t quit since I am working in my field and it counts towards my experience (I hope). It’s been a year of searching for me with no luck. I had a similar interview last month which lasted the whole day and then they politely sent me home without a job. What makes things even worse is logging onto facebook and seeing all my former classmates living the life I had hoped to lead. LIFE SUCKS!

    goingnowhere

    July 12, 2010 at 6:51 pm

  7. Same! I’m a post grad, can’t find work. Feeling either under or over qualified. Went to an interview today and really felt I slammed dunked it, only to get an email an hour later saying ‘No Thanks.’

    Def found this blog by typing ‘Why cant i get a job!’ ….why!!???

    Whit

    July 27, 2010 at 7:42 pm

  8. It’s definitely bad form to waste time and money interviewing people you have no intention on hiring. The bait and switch is really demeaning. I would have left as soon as I felt that the interview was over 3mins in. I have done it before. I feel like my time and efforts are too valuable and limited to spend them on people who are clearly wasting my time.

    Leslie Drew

    August 2, 2010 at 5:00 pm

  9. I have been unemployed for a year now. Graduated college in 2007. Worked two full time positions since then (roughly 2 years of experience) and have been laid off from both jobs. Talk about a recession! Now I’m having a really really hard time getting a new job. I’ve been on many interviews. All of them seem to go well and all of the employers say they will be in touch and then they aren’t! I feel that’s the worst thing. Not getting a response from an application.. ok. But if I take the time/effort to come in and meet with you the least you can do is tell me if I have the job or not. I usually follow up with companies once a week if I haven’t heard anything from them to find out my status. But sometimes they just ignore me. Which I find appalling. I’m so tired of interviewing and applying that when I do finally get a position I just might burn my interview clothes. Meeting with employment agencies feels like the worst waste of time. Many of them drag me in their office when they don’t even have any positions as a “just in case we get something.” Also I’ve met with two companies who were doing “exploratory” interviews. Meaning they didn’t have a job available but just wanted to see what’s out there. It’s torture.

    Lauren

    August 4, 2010 at 3:02 pm

  10. @Lauren
    Exploratory interviews are a no-no in times like this. I would have been less than polite had they not told me that before they called me in. I hope you let your friends and contacts know not to waste their time with those companies.

    Leslie Drew

    August 5, 2010 at 8:37 am

  11. Leslie, one company told me upfront it was an exploratory interview and the other company it was a surprise. With the company who informed me upfront it was a someone I’m highly interested in working for. Even though the interview was exploratory it was still an opportunity. Maybe if the economy were better and I was confident that I could find a job soon.. I wouldn’t have gone in, but I feel like I need to take every chance to get myself out there. That is why I meet with all the useless employment agencies and I would go on another exploratory interview. I’ve had to let go of a lot of pride in my job search. That’s part of the reason this process is so torturous. I will still go on those types of interviews with the small hope that something will come through.

    Lauren

    August 11, 2010 at 4:11 pm

  12. Seeing these responses makes me want to cry!! I also just found this website by typing “I can’t find a job” into google.

    I recently graduated with a master’s degree in Tax Accounting. I’m currently taking the CPA exam and have already passed 2 out of 4 exams. Recently, I had an interview in another state, for which I had to pay travel expenses. I thought they were truly interested so I ended up paying about $400 in tickets, a hotel room, and cabs. At the interview, someone expressed concern about my lack of experience even though they had already talked to me on the phone and seen my resume before they asked me to come to an office interview! I waited a few days, but I’m guessing they’re not going to hire me.😦

    Sara

    September 25, 2010 at 11:44 pm

  13. hey my name is Quintario Harris and i am looking for a job where i can pay bills and ohter stuff . well i am working on my ged online class and i want to do the best out of me. so i was hoping and praying that i find real good job?

    Quintario Harris

    October 18, 2010 at 11:57 am

  14. Major suckage.

    I have two years of experience in the field I got my degree, but have not yet gotten an entry-level job. I go on interview after interview, come out feeling that I nailed it, and nothing. I also have years of management, radio, and administrative experience from jobs as an undergrad, and other odd jobs, but even then, it’s difficult to find something part-time to sustain myself.

    Robert

    November 5, 2010 at 3:01 am

  15. I also found this blog through Googling “I can’t find a job.”

    I was let go from a job I held for years months ago, and finding something new has not been easy. I send my resume to different companies and am lucky if I get an auto-reply “Thanks for submitting your resume” response. It is such a waste of effort to work on a cover letter and resume just to not even get any semblance of a response. It is aggravating.

    Looks like a lot of us are in the same boat.

    changingmoods

    May 6, 2011 at 11:02 pm

  16. Last year when I mass-applied to all sorts of jobs, only one of them wished to have an interview.

    Turns out it was not really an interview at all. It seemed more like they were begging me to accept the offer, showing me around and explaining about the company’s aspirations. It was nothing like an interview; none of the expected questions, and pretty much leaving me with random colleagues to talk to. All they did was explain the company, without addressing my resume or whether I was suitable.

    After working there, I can see why it was like this. The employees were quickly becoming aware of how much of a sh**hole it was and quitting as soon as they could.

    If an interview seems to be going far too well and doesn’t follow the usual standard, be very cautious about your employer.

    Anon231

    January 19, 2014 at 11:52 pm


Leave a Reply

