I Can’t Find A Job

Overeducated, under experienced, and unemployed

The Emotional Pain of Job Searching

with 17 comments

I remember when I was an undergrad and watching an episode of The Suze Orman Show. I happen to like Suze as I feel her money advice is simple and sound, but I digress. She had this one girl on her show that was in her late 20s, saddled with debt, barely making any money, and living with her parents. Needless to say, this girl was terribly unhappy. In fact, she was an emotional wreck anytime someone brought up careers or finances. The girl featured on the show had her Master’s degree but was working part-time at Starbucks and felt like she wasn’t living up to her full potential. She knew she had to make changes, she wanted to make changes, and she wanted to become more financially viable. However, she didn’t want to go through the process of job searching again. The reason? It was so frustrating and emotionally painful when she tried years back that she essentially gave up on working in her field and settled for what was familiar – Starbucks.

Like most when they finish school, the girl scoured the Internet applying for an endless array of jobs only to hear almost nothing back. She found the process so frustrating and so painful that she just gave up on it. Back in the job search again, I can truly relate. When I was watching this girl tell her story on national TV, I thought the girl’s problems with job searching were a little far fetched – I mean the process wasn’t that bad, was it? Well, it really is. To accomplish yourself academically only to find out that no employers are interested in what you have to offer is very damaging. To spend hours each day applying for jobs only to hear nothing back is very frustrating. There have been times when I thought of doing exactly what this girl was doing – blocking herself from ever having to go through the painful job searching process again. If I was just a little weaker of a person that could have very well be me or anybody else for that matter.

Thoughts?

P.S. Follow me on Twitter!

Written by icantfindajob

April 27, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Posted in Opinion

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey – just wanted to check in. I hope all is going well with you and that you’re keeping your chin up. Stop by sometime – we miss you.

    -Garrett
    The 405 Club: (Un)Employment Support Network on $405/week for unemployment but rich in talent!
    http://the405club.com

    Garrett of The 405 Club

    April 28, 2010 at 8:13 pm

  2. I’ve been looking for a job since September. Sent out probably 400-500 resumes by now. I’ve been to 2 interviews and recieved a handful of calls back. Somehow it’s worse now than it was a few months ago, I havn’t recieved a call from of the positions I applied for in the last month. I hate browsing job postings these days, it’s become the worst chore I have. I’d rather wash dishes for hours than look at job postings. The most frustrating part I think is that I don’t know what the employers are looking for exactly. So maybe I’m overqualified for those jobs only looking for 2 years of college and my application is automatically disqualified. And then maybe I’m underqualified for the others because I don’t have as much work experience as they would like from me.

    In the end, the worst emotional pain is felt through my wallet. Where are those people who say money doesn’t buy happiness now?

    Mikey

    May 2, 2010 at 11:51 am

  3. great post. i certainly feel like the image you posted to go with your story. i am just looking for part time work even to supplement my unemployment that’s going to run out in a few months and can’t. everyone says “go get a job, what’s the problem”. they have not lost their jobs in this recession. i’ve gotten over the degrading part of applying for jobs that i’m ridiculously over qualified for, but they don’t even call back. and the one job that shows up once per month in my field is bombarded with applicants. i started my own business but have no income stream from it yet. it’s so hard to maintain the image of being upbeat and ok with the situation. but i don’t know how much longer i can put off not going to the doctor or dentist. i guess if i have cancer because of a lack of preventative checkups and cavities i should be happy.

    kanisha

    May 5, 2010 at 2:30 pm

  4. I graduated this May with a Finance degree and my fiancée too. He has been unemployed since Oct 2009 and I have been unemployed since March 2010. I went for an interview for a regular receptionist job but I guess I was overqualified with my resume and everything. I still maintain positivity but it is so frustrating that sometimes an individual has to settle for less.

    bubblynsmily

    May 30, 2010 at 3:50 pm

  5. I totally understand where you are coming from. I have just finished with my Masters in computer science. I have been applying to jobs ever since I finished with my Bachelor’s in 2008 and no jobs. Everybody tells me to apply, but after the interviews, I never hear a call back. I don’t know if depression is coming upon me or what it is but, I just feel that it was pointless to get a Master’s and pointless to have goals in life as when you try to progress in life, all of the doors seems to be closed.

    Rafael Gil

    July 18, 2010 at 7:38 pm

  6. I want to jump on the bandwagon along with you guys and say that I am in the same boat. It is so depressing and stressful job hunting, and nothing seems to come up. I graduated in 2008 with a BA in Psychology. I worked a summer job in a Psych ward until I went away to do volunteer work in Oct. 2008. When I completed that in July 2009, I tried to make it out in CA where I was stationed but after a month or so of not finding a job I had to return home, and by the Grace of God, I was able to get my old job back in the Psych ward. But I still try to do the whole job search thing because I feel Im capable of more. Im living with my grandma and the job I have doesnt even require a degree. I feel like giving up because it doesnt seem like im getting anywhere. Where are all the jobs? They tell us growing up, “go to college so you can get a good job,” and you do just that, but it doesnt pay off…smh😦

    tankyh

    August 5, 2010 at 12:01 pm

  7. I’m putting off the application process as I type now. I just get so frustrated with the redundancy of filling out online applications–each company has their own set of atleast 10+ pages they want you to fill out and that can take an hour or more…after a handfull of those each day with no results, it starts to seem a little pointless to say the least.

    Monterae

    August 30, 2010 at 1:08 pm

  8. I’m in the same boat, doing my best to stay positive.

    MantrasOfAngels

    September 15, 2010 at 3:58 pm

  9. I am currently unemployed. It has been 7 months. I graduated in 2006 with my bachelors in Industrial design and a minor in crafts. I got my first job as a designer then was laid off 9 months later with about 1/3 of the company. I had no luck in my job search after that so I went abroad to teach ESL for a year hoping the job situation would be better upon my return. Well after 7 more months of unemployment with no unemployment checks I can safely say it is worse than a year ago. I’m so disheartened and depressed that I never want to fill out another online application or write another damn cover letter, because you know what, no one is reading them!

    I went on 1 legitimate face to face interview in my field. I sent a thank you note and called a week later for a status update. They took 3 months to send an email saying they had filled the position. I’m sick of being treated like crap by employers. When you have a face to face interview is it too much to expect a phone call back in a timely manner? If we ever did that to an employer you can be sure they would never talk to us again. Why doesn’t common curtsey go both ways? I wish there were a way to red flag a company and warn other poor job hunters of awful HR treatment.

    The worst part of all of this is how many able bodied people desperately want to work, but can’t get a damn job.

    Anne

    October 20, 2010 at 3:23 pm

  10. The funny thing is that what everyone said is correct. I not only have a bachelors but also real work experience while in college for a major company and I still can’t find a job. I’ve had 1 serious interview this year for a position that fit me. Fck this job market

    Johndoe

    December 24, 2010 at 1:47 pm

  11. great post… makes me feel tons better in a way knowing there r ppl out there going through the same as me.

    I graduated from university at end of 2006 with a bcom accounting. i then starting doing some training at an audit firm for about 2 years – doing articles, my initial goal was to do Chartered Accountant bt the honors was quite difficult and came with strict rules so i didnt complete that.
    I then resigned from articles because i couldnt take my working environment. – this is in feb 2009
    but at the time i was also going through a difficult pregnancy and had to stay home for a while when my baby was born coz he was very sickly.

    So anyway after my baby is about 5 – 6 months – December 2009 i start looking for jobs… i now have a finance degree plus 2 years working experience and i cant seem to find any jobs. went for tons of interviews with no call back.
    I got a few temp jobs for a week or say here and there.
    so after looking and looking in 2010 for jobs – nothing decent comes up so i decided to start my own business structure in about May 2010 – the business potential is ok bt this doenst pay much because of expenses and having to do a whole lot of admin crap for the business and then clients dont pay.
    so in 2010 i done a few temp jobs and had a few clients of my own which i am still currently doing accounts for but they dont want to pay me.
    so i want to cancel their services and looking for a decent job that should pay me for my degree 2 years plus more experience including my entrepreneurial skills. but no i have been applying for the last month and have received no calls or emails back.

    what on earth can i do. I am married and my husband earns a decent salary and basically looks after me but i hate being at hom – as my son is now at creche and i am nt moving forward in my career.
    If i can get a nice job for the remainder of the year i was planning on doing my honors next year.

    I just feel kinda crap when i c ppl out there with the same qualification and some dnt even have experience, but they get these nice high paying jobs.

    SO WHAT side of the tree did i fall from if i cant get that noce job??????????

    I am sick of applying for jobs…. i feel demotivated.

    cutie

    February 22, 2011 at 2:53 pm

  12. Oh yes and i forgot to add that it seems that employers only want the people who got straight A’s at university and then was stuck 5 years at a firm doing the same thing day in and day out.
    As soon as they see you have been hopping around and taking a gap in btwn from working then you off the shortlist.

    That is bull… because i am sure i can do much more with my broad line of experience, hence seeing different clients, persuing business projects etc.
    this also goes for people that travel and experience new things.

    cutie

    February 22, 2011 at 3:03 pm

  13. Thank you for the post, and thank you to all of you who have left their stories. I have been searching for work in Industrial Design for the past 9 months. I have the same story as the rest. I feel like i’m going to freak out if i see another post for entry level and then look under requirements and it says “minuimum of 2-3 years experience in a related field”. It makes me so mad. How does a company have the balls to list the job as entry level and then require mass amounts of experience. I paid a fuck ton to go to school and get my BFA. I paid thousands more to exhibit my work at design exhibitions, and it all means nothing. I live with my sister, I have no job, and i cant even get unemployment because i left my gas station job “under my own terms” which meant i was too poor to live on my own any more so i had to move back in with my sister back in my home town. I fell like a failure that I cant use my skills and do what i love to do. And I cant agree more with an earlier post. I cant believe how rude these employers are about responding to these application. Its not like we are just writing down our basic info and clicking send. We are writing thoughtful cover letters, trying our damnest to say the right thing for that employer. We are changing our portfolio and resume to make it fit. We do all that and we cant even get a simple “NO”. It is sad, but I would be happy with a response of NO now compared to the endless silence. I have put out about 50 applications now and i have had one email response and i answered their questions, it was a no. Anyways thanks for letting me vent about this and im glad im not alone, however i dont wish this kind of depression, and heartache of job searching on my worst enemy. Good luck to you all, I truly hope you all find something that makes you happy. I hope we all do.

    Adam

    January 23, 2012 at 3:43 am

  14. glad to know that I am not the only one find the job hunting process frustrating. Now my momentum is back as imbued by the social support from this posting.🙂

    KS

    May 21, 2012 at 11:31 pm

  15. I hear all of your pain. My decision to attend grad school in 1997 (MBA) was to invest in my career so that I would never have to experience this very situation. I graduated from a Tier-1 MBA program in 1999 and have been unhappy with my career for most of the last 13+ years. I’ve been in financial services for most of this time, but in San Diego. While I love what San Diego offers in climate and lifestyle, it’s simply not the mecca of job pools in the US. Most financial services gigs are either in banking or brokerage. There are very few PE firms, handful of hedge funds and little-to-no i-banks. Said another way…only retail financial services jobs offering little pay regardless of your educational background.

    In 2007, I divorced my first wife, lost everything I owned (well worth it to gain my freedom), but now remarried (very happy this time), and also have my second child (11 months old). I’m eager to get back to work…I miss making money!!!

    I’m tired of searching, tired of looking, tired of not getting any response from any of the positions I’m applying for…and as a man, husband and father this is killing my mojo. My confidence is at the floor. I’m supposed to be a provider and I’m not doing my job.

    fruitlessefforts

    November 5, 2012 at 12:31 pm

  16. I am a college grad and I have been looking for a job for what seems like forever and it hasn’t been going well at all. My self confidence has diminished with every rejection and all of the emails that tell me I’m just ‘not the right fit’ or the employer has found ‘a better suited candidate’ with absolutely no feedback has really given me NOTHING to work with in terms of what I can do to be better.

    Frankly though, I don’t think I’m a bad candidate at all. I have a college degree, some pretty good experience and the attitude and skills to back everything up. I’m just starting to think I’m bound to die in a mediocre retail job getting paying minimum wage to make ends meat.

    It’s a quality of life I want to improve but I feel like it’s getting more and more difficult by the day.

    Anyone else feeling like this?

    Seema

    October 15, 2014 at 2:53 pm

  17. I can fix it

    Mallory

    August 16, 2015 at 9:20 pm


Leave a Reply

