I Can’t Find A Job

Overeducated, under experienced, and unemployed

To Crash Your Car or Not (That is the Question)

with 2 comments

My local area is currently getting blasted with a massive snowstorm as forecasters suspect 12 to 18 inches of the white stuff being dumped before it’s all over. I called out of work today not so much because I couldn’t make it to work but it was getting back that was questionable. It would have been a slick commute in but a horrible commute home as I would be leaving when the storm was beginning to kick into high gear.

However, I can’t help but feel guilty that I called out. But I also felt the company made the wrong and irresponsible decision to open as they put people’s financial and physical well-being at risk by tempting them to drive into work when dangerous conditions were present. If I were to injure myself, disability and medical bills would not be worth a day’s pay. If I totaled my car, I couldn’t afford to go out and buy a new car. I simply wouldn’t have a car and when I could manage to purchase another one, I would be adding an unnecessary financial burden to myself amidst an already-tight budget.

Employers would have you think that if you, an employee, don’t show up or make an effort to show up during inclement weather, you aren’t “A” material, a team player, dedicated, or serious about your job.

What do you think? I can’t help but think I made a smart decision because while others might have exposed themselves to car accidents or worse, I know that I avoided exposing myself to a dangerous storm.

Written by icantfindajob

February 10, 2010 at 5:34 pm

Posted in Bad Business, Opinion

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think it’s rediculous that your boss(es) would make you go to work in those conditions! I believe you made a good choice and it seems like the majority of employers are schmucks and they put money over common sense. It’s all about the dinero. I live in Colorado and if we had a blizzard like that, almost everything would close. Don’t feel guilty. If something would’ve happened to you, the blood would’ve been on their hands.

    Joey

    February 20, 2010 at 10:36 pm

  2. Did you hear about the hospital employees in DC who were laid off after they couldn’t make it in because of that blizzard?

    I think it’s absurd when employers hold it against you when you can’t make it in for snow like that, not everyone has big SUV/4×4’s nor does everyone get their street plowed within a reasonable amount of time (if at all).

    Louise

    March 5, 2010 at 1:43 pm


Leave a Reply

