I Can’t Find A Job

Overeducated, under experienced, and unemployed

New Report Shows Recession Taking Major Toll on Young

with 10 comments

Reuters is reporting that the economic recession (soon to be a depression, in my opinion) have taken its toll on young Americans in particular. Since the recession began in late 2007, young people, particularly black and low-income young people, have found it increasingly difficult to find a job according to a new report published by Reuters.

Reuters stated, “Overall, 26 percent of American teenagers aged 16 to 19 had jobs in late 2009, said the report, which was based on U.S. Census Bureau data. That figure is a record low since statistics began to be kept in 1948, the researchers said.”

It’s no secret young people are having a hard time finding jobs in this economy. Just think why I started this blog in the first place. You have a plethora of recent college graduates that have great degrees that are doing nothing with themselves post-college. No jobs, no cars, no moving out of mom and dad’s house. Instead, they wallow with no work at all, temporary work, part-time work, or low-level service jobs (i.e. retail). Being that a good deal of college graduates or recently laid off skilled works now apply for temporary jobs, part-time work, or retail jobs, imagine how this effects those without a work history, hard skills, or a degree. What does the high school grad or G.E.D. grad do when jobs they once sought are being filled by those with higher credentials?

Thoughts?

Written by icantfindajob

January 26, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Posted in Bad Business, News, Opinion

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s exactly where I’m at..recent college grad with a great degree doing nothing. I tried my stint at retail but it became too damn annoying. I could have done it out of high school.

    Jamie

    February 1, 2010 at 9:36 am

  2. @ Jamie You’re preaching to the choir, my friend. Good luck with the job search!

    icantfindajob

    February 2, 2010 at 5:23 am

  3. Nicely written! Can I use this post for my web site? I will place a link. Thank you🙂

  4. @ Sharmaine Absolutely! Please link to https://icantfindajob.wordpress.com

    icantfindajob

    February 10, 2010 at 5:39 pm

  5. What gives you the right to call retail a low level job? I have a four year degree in aviation technology and work as a retail manager. Sure it’s not rocket science but it’s not a retard job. Young Americans are in this dream world where they have to find a job making close to six figures or more. Granted my wife has a better paying job then me, but I still contribute. You should be proud to work any job really. I am glad I am not 22 and just out of college either, at least I got to experience a good economy and buy a house etc.

    Tom

    February 10, 2010 at 11:09 pm

  6. @ Tom Any sociologist, economist, etc. will label retail, security guards, home health aids, hourly hospitality personnel, and others as low-level service jobs.

    And you probably didn’t read much of my blog because if you did, you would know that I worked in retail for over 8 years when I was in undergrad and graduate school until I got a low-level job. Don’t be afraid to call a spade a spade.

    When I was in retail, you had normal people overqualified for their position (a few), hourly morons, and especially salaried morons (managers). I only met ONE manager that had a brain between his skull when I worked in retail. The rest were brain-dead Stalin or Napoleon reincarnates. You just gave me another idea for a blog post…thanks!

    By the way, I too agree people should be proud to work any job. All work is noble. I am not one of those “better than thou” folks because one of the baines of my existence were dealing with these assholes when I was in retail.

    icantfindajob

    February 11, 2010 at 9:38 am

  7. I wish I would’ve been born 20 years earlier, I would’ve had everything made, I would’ve graduated college at a better time, and everything would’ve fell into place, but instead I am that 22 year old! I graduated at a time where these corrupted, greedy shitholes decided to f* up the economy so people like me can’t find a decent job after working our asses off in school the last few years. Sorry for my profanity, but this whole situation with the economy gets to me. I wish all those people that did this to the economy would have all their earnings stripped from them and thrown in prison.

    Joey

    February 20, 2010 at 10:30 pm

  8. I worked the overnight shift at UPS moving boxes to pay my own way through college and grad school. I was proud of that.

    I finished my masters in May ’09 and have only been able to land a $10/hr temp job since. When I left UPS I was making $22/hr. I had benefits, over a month’s paid vacation, and total job security.

    I have old work friends that are still at UPS. They’re getting married, buying their first homes. I live in my parents’ spare room.

    I wish I wouldn’t have gone to college at all. I’d be better off.

    Kevin M. Metcalf

    March 3, 2010 at 10:39 am

  9. I have 10 years of experience in my field. And a Master’s Degree. Experience is not helping. Still out of work 1 year and 6 months. I now walk around the house eating ho hos and look like a wreak!

    Only hope now is going back to school.

    Can you believe they are hiring people from the Phillipines and Mexico at lower cost for a Union job?

    I’ve even moved states.

    Crazy times.

    Juliet

    March 30, 2010 at 4:44 pm

  10. @Juliet
    Can you believe they are hiring people from the Phillipines and Mexico at lower cost for a Union job?”

    Yes I can. Unions screwed a lot of qualified people out of jobs right here in the US. Then unions got greedy. Do you really need $45 per hour? No, you don’t. Having a union negotiate that salary in addition to benefits is a joke when a company can get someone to do it for half (and that’s *still* a reasonably livable salary). Oh but no. They can’t do that. Because if they hire non-union workers for half that the company is horrible and those who are willing to work for less are scabs? So what does a company do? Hire for even LESS and off-shore it to those accustomed to living on about $2 a day.

    So union workers, instead of being in the union to protect yourself from abuse, you allowed your union bosses to abuse the system and now not only but the rest of us (What are we again? Oh yes, “scabs.) pay for it.

    Buck up little camper! You helped f*&k us!

    ThanksForAllTheFish

    August 24, 2010 at 6:10 am


Leave a Reply

