I Can’t Find A Job

Overeducated, under experienced, and unemployed

My Eventful Month Part II

with 6 comments

champagneI was driving back from lunch one day and anticipating working another 4 hours in retail hell before my day was over when I received a call from a very nice lady in a human resources department from a company I had applied with. A smile immediately came to my face and for a second, I forgot about the idiots and morons I would have to deal with when I arrived back at work. After asking a few questions and explaining the job to me, she scheduled an interview the following day.

The interview went well and after the person I interviewed with and the HR lady spoke in private, I was offered a position pending everything else checked out – education verification, criminal record check, etc. Not wanting to sound the desperate job seeker that I actually am, I told them I’d get back to them later in the day. When I did, I obviously said yes and accepted the offer.

Although the position is far from glamorous, it’s a start in my field. And I don’t mean far from glamorous in the delusional-recent-college-grad-job-seeker way (i.e. no corner office with a secretary, a signing bonus of $100,000, a complimentary gold watch, and a driver to pick me up in the morning with a golf tee scheduled everyday at noon). But hey, it’s better than retail and at least it’ll give me the ever-desired experience that my resume desperately needs.

So, without further to say, I GOT A JOB!!!!!

(P.S. Don’t worry, I’ll still be the same grumpy, negative bastard you’ve grown to love. Instead of bitching about not being able to find a job, I’ll bitch about others not being able to find a job, the economy, labor-related issues, and other garbage I feel valuable enough to post on my blog.)

Written by icantfindajob

August 25, 2009 at 9:53 am

Posted in Hell, Interviews, Random

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! I’m glad everything finally paid off for you! Wish me luck – I’ve got an interview on Friday and a few applications still floating around…

    Stephanie PTY

    August 25, 2009 at 2:01 pm

  2. Congrats! I’m hoping to be able to say the same thing too soon!

    But if you do ever want to commiserate on the awful economy- or others not having a job my blog is
    http://www.woesofacollegegrad.wordpress.com

    its basically job hunting issues and stuff to entertain yourself when unemployed- or during downtime in your spanking new cublicle!

    laurenabra

    August 26, 2009 at 8:26 pm

  3. Congrats!!! But what kind of job did you get? Do tell —

    Allan

    August 27, 2009 at 11:38 pm

  4. @ Stephanie PTY Good luck! Hope things work out!

    @ laurenabra Good luck! Keep the faith!

    @ Allan Anonymity prevents me from getting into details but it’s typically a low-level position but at a great company and in a field that I want to work in. There is a ton of promotion potential so all in all, I’m very happy.

    icantfindajob

    August 28, 2009 at 10:46 am

  5. Try not to be tempted to siphon off hundreds of thousands from your employer to buy a Lambourghini.

    Liquid Egg Product

    September 4, 2009 at 11:23 am

  6. I’m more of a Maserati guy myself.

    icantfindajob

    September 4, 2009 at 8:43 pm


Leave a Reply

