I Can’t Find A Job

Overeducated, under experienced, and unemployed

“It’s Like Super Cool Having Like A Job!”

with 2 comments

katz2Stories like the one below drive me crazy. Not merely because of the dishonestly involved but what stories like that bring to my consciousness – something I have known and seen for a long time. As I have searched for a job the past six months, I’ve either had contact with people in companies that I have applied to or heard stories through the grapevine about recent grads or closely thereabout get jobs. What majority of these people have delineated to me either through directly talking to them or knowing about them is that they are utterly immature and completely incompetent. Not incompetent in the sense that they have no experience but incompetent to the realities of the working world in that they don’t care to learn about their field, their job, or have any experience earning an income in any fashion.

These party-hard idiots, like Robin Katz (pictured right), spend all day on Myspace and Facebook while at work and leave barely legible comments on their friends profiles discussing their previous nights sexual exploits or drinking. They’re the “OH MY GOD, yeah, it’s like sooo exciting having a job that pays you like lots of money after school because I was like sooo poor before I started working and my Dad was like all crazy saying he was going to stop giving me my like thousand-dollars-a-month allowance and I’d be like some freak without it. But yeah, whatever, it’s totally cool being like a professional but I only make like $50,000, which is like nothing because I can like spend that in Dior!” type.

Am I jealous? Yes.

Envious? Yes.

More deserving of a job than idiots like the ones described above? I’d like to think so.

I don’t care how stupid they are or what they like to do but what irritates me is that they’re either occupying a seat with their moron ass that I could fill or simply have had better luck (skills?) at landing a job than I have.

What do you think? Am I just bitter or is what I’m saying actually like true?

Written by icantfindajob

July 23, 2009 at 5:08 pm

Posted in Opinion

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, you’re bitter, but with a LOT of justification. I’m often astounded by people like Robin and employers who’d rather hire people like her at an entry-level salary as opposed to people with experience who can actually do the work well but might cost them a few extra bucks.

    Anyway, I wanted to share a blog post with you that you might appreciate: MARVIN quits state Unemployment Insurance Agency (http://motorcitymalcontent.blogspot.com/2009/07/marvin-quits-state-unemployment.html).

    Good luck with your job search and keep in touch!

    Bonnie

    Bonnie Brooke

    July 26, 2009 at 11:24 pm

  2. @ Bonnie Brooke My fustration with people like Robin is not that they are entry-level or lack experience. I essentially am on the same footing. What bothers me is that immature incompetants like her have jobs and I do not.

    Thanks for reading, Bonnie!

    icantfindajob

    July 27, 2009 at 10:39 am


Leave a Reply

